REA award winners revealed

The seventh annual Renewable Energy Association (REA) Awards ceremony took place in London last night recognising the UK renewable energy industry’s achievements over the past 12 months.

Hosted by UK BIG Lottery Fund Chairman, Peter Ainsworth the full list of award winners and runners up is as follows:

Technological Innovation

Runner up:

National Grid


Glosfume Ltd

Manufacturer / Employer Award


G24 Innovations

Community Award [3]

Runner up:

Fintry Development Trust


Camphill Community Glencraig

Flagship Project Award

Runners up:

Ebico Limited and Eden Project Limited

Eco2 and BNP Paribas Clean Energy Fund


The European Marine Energy Centre (EMEC) Ltd


Pioneer Award

Runners up:

Marks & Spencer


Stockport Homes


Installer Award

Runner up:

Norfolk Solar


Dulas Ltd


Journalist Award


Damian Carrington – The Guardian


Judges’ Award


Connie Hedegaard, the EU’s first Climate Action Commissioner

Chris Matthews of the Co-operative Bank


REA’s chief executive, Gaynor Hartnell, said: “These awards recognise outstanding achievement in the British renewable energy sector. They are a tribute to innovation and excellence. The exceptional quality of all the shortlisted entries serves to demonstrate the exacting standards, talent and originality within this industry.

“We received a record number of over two hundred nominations for this year’s Awards. We would like to thank all those who participated – your effort and dedication to this vibrant and growing sector is inspiring.”